5K Speed Training: Week 2

Week 2‘s training looked like this:

Monday: 3 mi run
Once again, an evil side stitch ruined my Monday run. I managed 2.6 mi before I couldn’t run through the pain anymore and headed back home. I have never been much of a drinker which means I’ve never been very good at keeping myself adequately hydrated. Now that I’m running & working out, my body needs more fluids than before. I really need to find a way to get the fluids in me. I don’t hate water or anything like that so it’s not a taste issue that’s preventing me from doing what I should be doing. I guess I don’t make a conscious effort to drink as much as (or more than) I should. Perhaps being well hydrated will kill the side stitches forever. With my luck, it’s something else that’s causing them. 

Tuesday: 30 min tempo
Before I get into how this went, I’m going to share Hal’s explanation of what a tempo run is. Per the description on his website:
“This is a continuous run with an easy beginning, a buildup in the middle to near 10-K race pace, then ease back and cruise to the finish. A typical tempo run would begin with 5-10 minutes easy running, continue with 10-15 faster running, and finish with 5-10 minutes cooling down. You can’t figure out your pace on a watch doing this workout; you need to listen to your body. Tempo runs are very useful for developing anaerobic threshold, essential for fast 5-K racing.”

We headed to the track on base for this one. I did an easy warm-up jog and did 3 laps on the track. Splits were 3:18, 3:20, 3:11. I stopped my watch and got a bit of water then did some dynamic stretching and knew I was forgetting one of the exercises but couldn’t remember what it was. Turns out, I forgot to do the walking lunges. Oh well, I’ll remember next time. I got a little more water and headed back on the track for the faster laps. My splits for these were 2:33, 2:31, 2:32, 2:17 which means I ran a 9:55 (ish) pace. Woot! Go me!!! Next was the cool-down jog. I ended up walking half of the first lap to catch my breath and get some water in me. I was parched! I handed my water bottle back to my husband and started jogging again. I jogged until I had completed 3 laps worth of a cool-down (almost 10 minutes). My splits for this series were 3:53 (ouch), 2:59, 2:52. Overall it went pretty well. The fast laps were a bit tough near the end but I suppose that’s the point, isn’t it? No pain, no gain!!

Wednesday: 3 mi run
This run was awesome! Life kind of got in the way until late afternoon, so I timed it so that I would be running around the time I’ll be running my next 5K race in a couple of weeks. That race starts at 3pm and I headed out for this run around 330pm so not too far off. Not long after I started, I was passed by a few track team members from the high school down the street. It didn’t do much for my ego to be passed by a bunch of track stars at the end of their route but I didn’t let it bruise my ego too badly. 😉 I noticed I started to cramp up a bit after the 2 mi mark. Seems cramping up just past 2 mi is my new norm. One that I could do without. Anyhow, I ended up running 3.03 mi in 32:50 for a pace of 10:50. My first sub 11:00 pace. Woot! I didn’t feel like I was really pushing myself or anything so I’m assuming this training is working its magic! It’s nice to see results and even better so get a nice surprise like that. I had to do a double take when I saw what my pace was.

After a nice cool down walk w/ the family, I was still a little high from the run and decided to do a workout with resistance bands. I did the following:
squats 3×15 
seated row 3×15 
curl to press 3×12  
calf raise 3×15 
push ups 3×12 
sit ups 15 – I used a mat and still had some pain in my tail bone. My husband got down to show me how he does them and when I tried again, he noticed my back doesn’t roll (like a C) when I come back down. The small of my back is very pronounced (really pushed toward my stomach) so I’m wondering if that has something to do with my lack of C-ness. I think I’ll stick with planks and leg drops for now to work my core.

Thursday: rest
No rest for the wicked. I’ve decided I’m going to do some kind of core workout every day. I attempted a plank and could only hold it for about 25 seconds. I’ll blame past pregnancies on that one! Then I did some leg drops. I didn’t count them so I have no idea how many I did. I continued until my abs were burning so much I couldn’t continue.


Friday
: 3 mi fast
This is what Higdon has written to describe what a “fast” run is:
“How fast is “fast?” Again, that depends on your comfort level. Go somewhat faster than you would on a “run” day. If you are doing this workout right, you probably do not want to converse with your training partner, assuming you have one. It’s okay now to get out of breath.”

OK, so with that in mind, being the newbie runner that I am, I took off like a flash, exhausted myself within the first mile and needed to take several walking breaks to get the full 3 miles in. The fasted I’ve run comfortably to date was 10:50 min/mi on Wednesday’s run.  I ran the first mile today at about a 8 min/mi pace. Fail!

I stopped just before the 1 mile mark of my route to do some dynamic stretching. I looked like a real winner doing walking lunges, toy soldiers, leg lifts and butt kicks up and down the sidewalk. People passing by in their cars probably thought I was nuts. haha Once again, I forgot to do a couple of the stretches I should have done (this time I forgot pike stretch & hacky-sack) but I’ll get them all one of these days. Once they’ve been part of my warm up routine for a bit, I should be able to do them all without thinking about it.

Today clearly wasn’t one of my best runs feeling-wise and I’m not proud that I had to take so many walking breaks, but I am proud of the pace (surprisingly, I managed to actually shave 1 second off of Wednesday’s pace) and that I persevered to get it done. It would have been so much easier to throw in the towel and go back home feeling defeated. Good thing I kicked myself in the a$$ because I ended up with a pace PR. 😀

When I got home, I did a quick core workout to add to the sweat. I was able to hold a plank for 30 seconds (woot! 5 second progress lol) and did 40 leg drops (20 each leg).  


Saturday
: 5 mi run
Another great run! I headed out with a large bottle of water half full ]so it wasn’t too heavy/awkward to carry. I really need to get my hands on a FuelBelt Palm Holder type of water bottle for my runs. Once again, I stopped shy of the 1 mile mark to do some dynamic stretching then kept on going. I took it slow and stopped to walk a few times to take a few sips of water. Most of my routes have a few hills and today’s route was no different. There was one rather large hill that was quite the climb and my route was out & back so I had to do it twice. It wasn’t bad until I neared the top and my legs started screaming at me. I managed to run the entire 5 miles (5.07 miles to be exact) in 59:40 and felt good when I was done. The only issue I had was my knees, especially my right one, started acting up during my last mile. My thighs were very sore and stiff the rest of the day, too.


Sunday
: rest
Rest day? What’s a rest day?? Even though I was feeling pretty worn out, probably from staying up too late throughout the week, I couldn’t not do something. A friend sent me P90X’s Ab Ripper X DVD (thanks again, Lorie!!) and I got it yesterday so I figured that would be a good thing to attempt. I set up a mat on the floor w/ a towel on top and got a pillow to put under my butt. The pillow worked fairly well to keep my tailbone pain-free but I still had some discomfort during some of the exercises. The pillow also made it tougher to do some of the moves because of the extra room between the floor & my lower back. I need to find some kind of solution. I read some people do the DVD while on their bed and I may need to resort to that and do more reps or something. Ugh. I have more than enough padding in my rear, who knew I’d have such a protruding tailbone. Really inconvenient during ab workouts. Anyhow, so I managed to do as much as I could but I have a long way to go before I’m able to keep up with Tony and his minions on the DVD. You don’t realize how out of shape you really are until you start working out. Oy! I’m planning to do Ab Ripper X twice a week to start out with and, in time, my core should strengthen which will improve my running.


I should really keep designated rest days as such. They’re just as important as workouts and I’m starting to feel worn down & tired. Of course, feeling sluggish the last couple of days could also be the impending arrival of my monthly visitor (sorry guy readers!). Either way, rest is important so I think I’ll add Ad Ripper to my easy run days during the 5K training program, which are Monday & Wednesday. I guess Monday & Wednesday won’t be so “easy” anymore. Three mile runs, resistant band workouts and Ab Ripper X. Whew!! Next week should prove to be interesting! I just need to learn how to get my rear end in bed at night because I clearly need more rest than I’m getting.

Posted on October 30, 2011, in 5K, training. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

