Three Months Ago

On August 3rd, 2011, I laced up my shoes, loaded up my iPod with Week 1 of Podrunner: Intervals 1st Day to 5K series and ran my first day of the Couch to 5K (C25K) program. I remember it was very hot & humid outside and I felt like puking near the end of the run. But, I stuck with it and managed to finish all of the intervals without dying or tossing my cookies. Little did I know it would be the start of a love for running and bettering my health & fitness level.

I’m very proud of how far I’ve come since that first day. It feels as though running has been a part of my life a lot longer than three short months. My weight has been up and down throughout the last three months but clearly my body is slowly transforming as I’ve lost 9 inches overall. Dang it, I should have taken some before pictures.

I now feel far more energetic, I look for ways to be active with my kids, my clothes are starting to fit better, and, for the first time in years, I have a tan! haha If you knew me, you’d know that’s a huge accomplishment. I’m very fair-skinned and people joke that they need to wear sunglasses when they’re around me because I’m so “white”. Think the shade of a vampire. :p I’m no ashamed of my fair skin; in fact, I quite like it. However, it’s nice to have some colour for a change and I have running to thank for that.

Lets all raise our glasses and toast to leading active lifestyles. I’m very thankful I found the motivation to get off the couch and make a change for the better. Here’s to a lifetime of more running milestones! *cheers!*

Posted on November 3, 2011, in C25K, milestone, running, training. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

