5K Speed Training: Week 3

Breakdown of Week 3‘s training:

Monday: 3 mi run + strength training w/ resistance bands + Ab Ripper X
It was supposed to be an “easy” run, but it felt very laboured. My legs were still very tired from Saturday’s run which made this run quite a struggle. My quads were not happy with me in the beginning. I don’t remember when they finally stopped yelling at me,  but my calves started screaming near the end of my route. I did my usual dynamic stretching once I was warmed up and I think this was the first time I didn’t forget any of the stretches. Hooray for progress! ha! This was the first Monday run since I started the program that I was actually able to do 3 miles without stopping because of a side stitch. I ran 2.98 miles in 33:07 (pace 11:07).

I did a strength training workout with resistance bands after my run.
squats 3×15 
band row 3×12 
curl to press 3×12 
calf raise 3×15 
push ups 2×12
Monday would also mean an Ab Ripper X session but I skipped it seeing as I did it the day before. 

Tuesday: interval training; 6 x 400m
Headed to the track for this workout. Since the intervals increase by one each session, I decided to do one more than I did two weeks ago instead of the 6 in the program. I did a 3/4 mile warm up jog followed by 4 intervals of 400m fast and 400m recovery. I had to walk for 1/3 of a lap during the cool down for the 3rd interval and 1/2 of a lap during the cool down for the 4th interval so that I could catch my breath. Other than that, it went pretty smoothly and I finished it off with a 3/4 mile cool down jog. My ankle was really bothering me when I was done. I’m not sure if I did something to it during this session or during Monday’s run but it was not good. I iced it when I got home and put icy hot on it before bed. It felt better Wednesday but was still painful to move it in a certain direction. Looking at diagrams online, I *think* I may have hurt a ligament around the talus bone (it’s tender around the bone that stick out of the side of the foot/ankle; mine hurts on the medial side of my ankle, especially when I push my foot outwards toward the right).

Wednesday: 3 mi run + strength training w/ resistance bands + Ab Ripper X
My ankle was still bothering me so I made this a rest day to hopefully help the ankle heal.

Thursday: rest
Ankle felt better today but not 100% yet so more rest. 

Friday: 4 mi run
Ankle was fine until late afternoon. It started bothering me while we were walking around Walmart and the pain continued throughout our nightly walk. Perhaps I did too much at home but it’s near impossible to really rest with two small kids to take care of.

Saturday: 6 mi run
Another forced rest day. Having an injury is aggravating! I’ve felt like such a slug this week and having Halloween candy in the house is not helping matters. I know resting my ankle is the right choice to avoid injuring it further and being out of commission for an extended period of time but it’s so hard to bench yourself and sit on the sideline. The only thing I’m hoping for right now is that my ankle is 100% better for the 5K next weekend. Please, please, PLEASE heal in time!!

Sunday: rest
I was hoping I’d be able to run today but alas it’s not going to happen. Enough said. I think I’ve whined enough for one week. :/ 

Posted on November 6, 2011, in 5K, training. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

