5K Speed Training: Week 8

Here’s how my final week of Higdon’s 5K training program panned out.

Monday: 3 mi run + strength training + Ab Ripper X + 12 Days of Fitness Challenge
Today went well and I was able to complete all of the workouts I had planned. I ran 2.85 miles, I did my strength training, I did day 5 of the 12 Days of Christmas Fitness Challenge, and I finished my day with Ab Ripper X. I was exhausted when it was all said and done but well worth it!

Strength training:
squats 3×15 
seated band row 3×12 
curl to press 3×12 
calf raise 3×15

Day 5:
100 jumping jacks
2x 1 minute planks
3 sets of lunges (10 each leg)
4 sets of 30 sec jump rope
5 burpees 

Tuesday: 30 min tempo + 12 Days of Fitness Challenge
I was exhausted today and my body was screaming for a rest so that’s what I gave it.

Wednesday: 2 mi run + strength training + Ab Ripper X + 12 Days of Fitness Challenge
Today’s run almost didn’t happen but I got it done. As for everything else… fail. Officially fell off the 12 days of fitness wagon

Thursday: rest 12 Days of Fitness Challenge
I planned on catching up on the 12 days and doing the days I missed plus today’s but yet another fail. Life certainly likes to get in the way! I managed 175 jumping jacks and that was it. :/

Friday: rest + 12 Days of Fitness Challenge
Finally managed to do Day 6 today. Only a couple of days late but I got it done. 

Day 6:
100 jumping jacks
2x 1 minute planks
3 sets of lunges (10 each leg)
4 sets of 30 sec jump rope
5 burpees
6 toe touchers (abs)

Saturday: Run For New Life 5K + 12 Days of Fitness Challenge
Race report here 
Exhausted = no other workouts 

Sunday: rest
Today’s “rest” day was filled with house cleaning and laundry. Fun, fun, fun! 😉

And this completes my 5K training program. Things were adjusted along the way due to an injury and life in general but I’ll say I’ve definitely improved my 5K speed. 😉 My first ever race  8 weeks ago was done in 35:28 and my finishing time yesterday was 28:21; that’s a difference of almost 7 minutes! Awesome!!

Posted on December 11, 2011, in 5K, training. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

