Run For New Life 5K

The Run For New Life 5K is a race dedicated to honouring and celebrating the lives of children lost through miscarriage, stillbirth, & newborn death. I ran today’s race in memory of our twin boys we lost in 2007 and all the precious miracles who were taken too soon from various friends & family members.

This was the 2nd year for this race and it was very small compared to what I’ve participated in so far. There were 29 runners and 19 walkers who took part in this event. I actually really enjoyed how low-key it was. It was nice to have room to breathe at the starting line unlike the Jingle Bell Run last weekend.

A particularly bad night w/ our youngest and the fact that it was pretty cold & windy outside meant that I went to this one without my cheerleaders (and photographer, so no pictures 😦 ). The race was literally a mile from the house so I got there at the last possible minute. I think I reset my alarm three times before I finally convinced myself it was worth it to get out of my warm & cozy bed and run in the cold. I was this close to saying eff it and staying under the covers but I’m so glad I talked myself out of that crappy idea. By the time I rolled out of my bed, I had enough time to get dressed and head out the door.

I got there 15 minutes before race start time and there weren’t many people there. I didn’t know how many people were going to be participating so it surprised me that there were so many parking spots left. haha I pinned my # on, got my iPod going and headed around the parking lot for a quick warm up and followed that with some dynamic stretching. As I finished stretching, we were told to head over to an area in the parking lot where the starting line would be. Talk about good timing! We headed over there and waited probably a good 5 minutes. It was cold! I started to wish at that moment that I had some gloves with me. A wish that continued throughout the run. One of the race organizers came over and said a few words, said a prayer and we were off. The route went through a neighbourhood with several hills and I was surprise none of the hills really bothered me. There was a rather large hill near the end of the race and I flew through that one as well. Guess it pays to live in an area with hills. 😉 I followed a woman the entire time and owe my pace keeping to her. I was running out of juice near the end and she did get away from me but I still pushed and didn’t give up my position. I crossed the finish line in 28:21. Yes, 28:21!!! I have a hard time believing I ran a 9:08 pace when the fastest I’ve run in a race thus far was 10:03 and that makes me doubt the course was long enough. I really hope Santa brings me a Garmin Forerunner for Christmas so that I don’t have to wonder how long a race (or run) was again.  But, I digress… I came in 9th overall and placed 1st in my age group. It was hard for me to accept at first given that the distance may not have been a true 5K but I was reminded that, length of the course aside, I was still the fastest in my age group and I deserved my award. I received a certificate for a free one month membership at a local Gold’s Gym. I’ve never been a member of a gym before so I’m both apprehensive and excited about taking advantage of it. I think I’ll wait a few months for the membership inflation due to New Years Resolutions to die down before I go.

This was my last race for 2011 and I’m ready to start the next chapter in my training. I have a post in the works regarding what’s next for me so keep an eye out for that. 🙂

Posted on December 11, 2011, in 5K, race, running. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

