Running With Spatulas Virtual Race – Race Report


In true Karly/Mother fashion, I procrastinated in doing my virutal race for Running With Spatulas. I had signed up for the 10K, 5K relay & the photo contest. I should have added the races into my schedule that way I would have guaranteed they get done on time. Live & learn. I ended up combining two of my easy runs to make up my time for the 10K and ran a 5K yesterday morning. Or so I thought… more about that later.

I set out after my husband got home from working midnights. I had enough time to get my run in, stretch afterwards, make the oldest’s lunch and then bring him to school. The run went very well. I flew through most of it with a few walking breaks to catch my breath. It’s amazing how fast I can go now (without the stroller). When I feel like I’m going slow, my pace is in the 9:00’s, and I have a hard time running slower than that ย when I’m by myself. I suppose that’s progress. ๐Ÿ˜€

When I thought my Garmin read 3.10 miles, I stopped it so that my time would be accurate and continued the trek home. My time was 28:28. Woah! Huge PR for me. Or so I thought. You see, I had a dyslexic moment in my exhausted mommy state and read 3.10 when my Garmin actually said 3.01. Ugh. Fail. I did cover the distance just didn’t have the specific time. I took the average pace for the 3.01 miles and estimated my time w/ the same average pace for 3.10 miles. So, my made-upย real finishing time was 29:18 with a pace of 9:27. Not bad but certainly not as impressive as a 28:28 finish. I’ll admit, I’m a little disappointed that I screwed up so badly, however, the made-up new time is still a 5K PR for me. That’s something to celebrate. Even though it’s not 100% accurate.

I had basic ideas for the photo contest that included the kids. However, it slipped my mind (my memory sucks) and I thought about it right after the kids went to bed. The deadline was last night so I had to come up with something else that didn’t include the kids. Bummer. I racked my brain and came up with the best I could at 8pm after a long day. I googled how to make a ninja mask (yes, seriously lol) and found a quick youtube video that used a t-shirt. Perfect. I tried my own t-shirt but it was too small. Thankfully, my husband had a black t-shirt in his dresser. It worked out perfectly. I ninja-ed myself, grabbed a couple of spatulas, and my husband got a few shots outside where it was dark. Darkness and ninjas just seem to go together. ๐Ÿ˜‰ My favourites were the following:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I probably should have put on a black shirt that covered my entire upper body but that’s just another fail to add to the seemingly never ending list of fails for this virtual race. lol Hindsight is 20/20, I’ll do better next time. And next time starts tomorrow w/ Run With Jess’s Jelly Bean Virtual Race. I’ll be sure to put the run in my schedule this time so that it actually gets done on time and I can work on getting good times instead of being forced to combine easy runs to qualify.

Posted on March 31, 2012, in 10K, 5K, photo contest, running, virtual race. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I loved it and I think you did GREAT!!!!!!

    I am currently adding your name and url to your pic so when I put it up people can visit ๐Ÿ™‚ Yay!! thanks for running and I loved the ninja!

  2. I can’t believe I missed it. Thought it was this week but it’s actually the Jelly Bean race so I’m working on that tomorrow(: Thanks for reminding me(: And girl! Every time I get out for a run this is my little pep talk: “Maria, at least you’re running. Think of all the people who won’t even run a block because they keep making up excuses. So stop making them and keep running, the clock’s ticking.” I figured out that I’m much more productive in a hostile active life. ๐Ÿ˜€
    Anywho, great timing. My PR for a 5k is 39:00 this past Thanksgiving. Hopefully I can break it with the Jelly Bean race even though I’ve been slacking this past week.
    Ohh! and I almost forgot! Love the pictures!

    • Thanks Maria! You are so right! I try to remind myself of the same when I’m having a hard time with a run: I’m lapping everyone who is on the couch.
      Good luck with your Jelly Bean racing! I’m in the process of doing the same.

Leave a Reply

