The Countdown Continues

My first half marathon is two weeks away. Holy cow. I’m starting to freak out a little.

My long run today was 11 miles. My last few long runs have been a tad difficult as I’ve been bringing the BOB and both kids along for the ride. The added struggle hasn’t done much for my confidence in my ability to actual run a half. My left hip has been giving me problems, as if on cue, every time I reach 6  miles during my runs. I’m not sure if I have some funky form when I run with both kids in the stroller (or with the stroller period) or if I’d still have the issue while running solo. I don’t get the opportunity to run solo much anymore so it’s a little difficult to test things out on my own. I’m just hoping that I’ll be pleasantly surprise and the half will go better than I think it will. I’ll be running it solo so I’m looking forward to that.

Ever since I started running last August, my runs have always been my “me” time. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy that time to escape from the kids and from home and just let my mind wander. I’m sure fellow mother/parent runners understand where I’m coming from. I also started running when my husband was off so it was pretty easy for me to get out on my own for a half an hour or so. Since my husband went back to work in January, it’s been more difficult to schedule solo runs.  Actually, it was difficult to schedule any run, which is why we finally splurged for a BOB Duallie (I’m working on my review for that, wanted to use it for a good amount of time before reviewing for you all). So, with my husband’s working schedule (midnights, eww), the only way I can run 95% of the time is to bring along the BOB and little running partner(s). The only problem I’ve had with this arrangement is my pace has taken a hit and I miss my truly alone time. I try to remind myself that I’m doing good things with the stroller. It should help me become a stronger runner and, when I do run solo, I’ll be a faster runner as well (I’ve already seen evidence of this). Wow, I went off on a tangent there. I guess I explained, in a few too many words, why I’m looking forward to running solo at the race. :p

I guess there’s no point in worrying about how things will go. All I can do is continue my training and give it my all. Everything else will, hopefully, fall into place.

Posted on April 1, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

