PHMB – Post-Half Marathon Blues

A black cloud has been looming over me since my half marathon on April 15th. I have not been able to find the motivation to run nor have I been making it a priority. Excuses have become easier and easier to come up with and embrace. In the eleven days since my half, I’ve run a total of 7 miles. That’s pathetic compared to what my weekly mileage was during my training. It’s very discouraging to be in this mindset but, it turns out, I’m not alone. According to this article (and many other I found with a quick google search), post-race blues are very common, especially among those who run full marathons.

Playing therapist with myself, I’m assuming that my disappointment in my first half has more than likely fueled this bout of post-race blues. The last two to three months have been about training for my first half marathon. Now that it’s over with, I find myself trapped in a “where do I go from here” mindset. I don’t have a specific running plan in place which makes it even easier to skip running because I don’t have to accomplish anything for that day. Terrible mindset to have.

I have several 5K’s, a 10K, and a couple of 4+ milers coming up over the next two months. The thing is, I don’t really need to train for them per-say because they’re not new distances. I just need to keep up my running to be ready for them. I know I need to make myself a schedule to help me get back on track.  I do better when I’m working toward a goal of some sort and I have a schedule laid out. However, even that task seems daunting to me right now.

DM has also been a blessing & a curse lately. Everyone on there is inspiring but this stupid dark cloud makes me feel like a lazy blob instead of allowing others to motivate me to do great things for myself. I am so ready to shake this thing. I need to get my head back in the game. My fitness isn’t the only thing that’s suffering, I’ve noticed I’ve also been very on edge lately because I’m not making exercise a priority.

I have a 5K for Autism Awareness this Saturday. Hopefully it helps me get back into the swing of things. Something’s gotta give! Someone please light a fire under my ass!

Posted on April 26, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

