Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

The last three months have been a whirlwind of changes for us. In early May, I found out I was expecting #3 and, a few days later, we were hit with a nasty cold that affected all of us and prevented me from doing any kind of running or working out. After the sickness seemed to have left the building, I was still dealing with an annoying cough and tickle in my throat (which turned out to be acid reflux… awesome!). I managed one run at the end of May and the kids and I were off to Canada the first week of June for a few weeks to visit my family while our kitchen was being redone.

If you’ve read my blog in the past, it’s no secret I’ve wanted to remain active and run throughout pregnancy. Unfortunately, I had a 1st trimester full of various bouts of spotting & bleeding. Needless to say, I was basically a lump for that part of my pregnancy; sitting and worrying about what was going on inside. I think it was a little easier for me to deal with the bleeding this time because I’ve bled at some point during all of my pregnancies. However, because I’ve been working so hard to live an active lifestyle since last August (1 year running anniversary is just days away!), it was really hard to swallow that I was being sidelined with no real injury, so to speak.

I finally got the all-clear two weeks ago to start walking, which I’ve done a couple of times (it’s HOT here!). I am, however, too afraid to risk running. Even though I’ve had no problems with walking, I fear what might happen if I start running. The what-ifs are killing me. Once my oldest goes back to school in three weeks, I’m hoping I can get back into my routine and, instead of running, I’ll be walking with my youngest in the BOB. I’m also looking at purchasing Body By Trimester and have been looking at the possibility of getting a recumbent bike that I can use at home. I guess a part of me fears that I’ll spend the money and end up having complications again and the money being wasted. Obviously the recumbent can be used later so that wouldn’t be a total waste, but I’m a serious penny pincher so I really have to persuade myself at times to spend money, especially on myself. I’m hoping the combination of all three will help me stay as active as I can be throughout my pregnancy. For some reason, walking alone just doesn’t cut it in my mind. Although, I suppose it’s better than being a couch potato.

So that’s what’s been going on at my end. I needed to take a break from here and DM because I was having a hard time dealing with being forced on the sidelines but I’m hoping I’ll be able to be at least somewhat active from now until this baby comes in January. And, hopefully this means you’ll be seeing more of me. 😉

Posted on July 31, 2012, in pregnancy, random. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

